# Life insurance

The South Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority's (PEBA's) life insurance program is

underwritten by Minnesota The insurance offered is term life insurance, which means coverage is provided for a specific period of time. The policy has no cash value.

Life, an affiliate of Securian Financial Group, Inc.

- The contract for
- the life insurance
- program consists
- of the policy, which is issued to PEBA,

PEBA's application, and your application. The policy is

held by PEBA. The insurance contract may be changed at any time as long as Securian and PEBA agree on the change. No one else has the authority to change the contract. All changes must be in writing, made a part of the policy, and signed by an official of Securian and of PEBA.

# Eligibility

Generally, to enroll in the life insurance program, you must be a full-time employee who receives compensation from a department, agency, board, commission, or institution of the state; public school district; county government, including county council members; local subdivision; or another eligible employer that is approved by state law and is participating in the state insurance program. Members of the South Carolina General Assembly, clerical and administrative employees of the General Assembly, and judges in the state courts are also eligible for coverage.

For insurance purposes, an employee is classified as full-time if they work at least 30 hours per week. If you work at least 20 hours per week, you may also be eligible in cases where your covered employer has defined

full-time to mean an employee who works at least 20 hours per week. PEBA must also approve this decision. Eligibility also requires that employees are citizens or legal residents of the United States, its territories and its protectorates, excluding temporary, leased, or seasonal employees.

## Actively at Work requirement

To become insured or to receive an increase in the amount of your insurance coverage, you must be fully performing your customary duties for your regularly scheduled number of hours at the employer's normal place of business, or at other places the employer's business requires you to travel. Meeting these requirements defines you as "Actively at Work."

If you are not working due to illness or injury, you do not meet the Actively at Work requirements. If you are receiving sick pay, short-term disability benefits, or long-term disability benefits, you also do not meet the requirements.

If you are not Actively at Work on the date coverage would otherwise begin, or on the date an increase in your amount of insurance would otherwise be effective, you will not be eligible for the coverage or the increase until you return to active work. If the absence is on a non-work day, coverage will not be delayed provided you were Actively at Work on the work day immediately preceding the nonwork day. Except as otherwise provided for in the insurance certificate, you are eligible to continue to be insured only while you remain Actively at Work.

Any insurance or increase in insurance coverage put in force while you are not Actively at Work will not be eligible for claims. You will receive a refund of premium for any insurance

you paid for which you were not eligible.

# Applications

The Notice of Election and Evidence of Insurability forms that you complete to be covered by this plan are considered your application for life insurance coverage. Securian may use misstatements or omissions in your application to contest the validity of insurance or to deny a claim. Securian will not use your application to contest insurance that has been in force for two years or more during your lifetime. The two-year period can be extended for fraud or as otherwise allowed by law.

Except for fraud or the non-payment of premiums, after the insured's insurance has been in force during their lifetime for two years from the effective date of their coverage, Securian cannot contest the insured's coverage. However, if there has been an increase in the amount of insurance for which the insured was required to apply or for which Securian required evidence of insurability, then, to the extent of the increase, any loss that occurs within two years of the effective date of the increase will be contestable.

Any statements that the insured makes in their application will, in the absence of fraud, be considered representations (true at the time) and not warranties (true at the time and will remain true in the future). Also, any statement an insured makes will not be used to void their insurance, nor defend against a claim, unless the statement is contained in the application.

# **Basic Life Insurance**

Automatic enrollment into the Basic Life Insurance benefit, including Accidental Death and Dismemberment coverage, is provided to eligible employees enrolled in the State Health Plan or the TRICARE Supplement plan. There are no specific forms to complete to participate, and you receive this benefit at no cost to you. Basic Life Insurance coverage provides:

- \$3,000 in term life insurance to eligible employees age 69 and younger; and
- \$1,500 to eligible employees age 70 or older.

The accidental death and dismemberment coverage amounts are the same as the Basic Life insurance.

Your coverage begins on the first day of the month you are Actively at Work as a full-time employee. If you become eligible on a day other than the first calendar day or first working day of the month, your coverage starts on the first day of the next month. All effective dates of coverage are subject to the Actively at Work requirement (see Page 113).

# **Optional Life Insurance**

The Optional Life Insurance program, with Accidental Death and Dismemberment coverage, is a voluntary benefit in which you pay the entire premium with no contributions from PEBA, the state of South Carolina, or your employer.

# Initial enrollment - active employees

If you are an eligible employee, you can enroll in Optional Life Insurance within 31 days of the date you are hired. You will need to complete the required forms, including a *Notice of Election* form. You can elect coverage, in \$10,000 increments, up to three times your basic annual earnings (rounded down to the nearest \$10,000), or to \$500,000, whichever is less, without providing evidence of insurability. You can apply for a higher benefit level, in increments of \$10,000, up to a maximum of \$500,000, by providing evidence of insurability.

Your coverage begins on the first day of the month you are Actively at Work as a full-time employee. If you become eligible on a day other than the first calendar day or first working day of the month, your coverage starts on the first day of the next month. If you enroll in an amount of coverage that requires evidence of insurability, your coverage effective date for the amount requiring evidence of insurability will be the first of the month after approval.

All effective dates of coverage are subject to the Actively at Work provision (see Page 113).

#### Late entry

#### With the Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature

If you participate in the MoneyPlus Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature and do not enroll within 31 days of the date you begin employment, you can enroll only within 31 days of a special eligibility situation (see Pages 21-27) or during an annual open enrollment period held each October. In certain special eligibility situations, you may purchase coverage, in \$10,000 increments, up to a maximum of \$50,000 without providing evidence of insurability. Coverage elected as a result of special eligibility situation will be effective the first of the month after you complete and file a Notice of Election form. Otherwise, you will need to complete a Notice of Election form and an *Evidence of Insurability* form during an open enrollment period (held each October) and return these to your benefits administrator. If approved, your coverage will be effective on the first day of January after the enrollment period or, if approved after January 1, coverage will be

effective the first of the month after approval. All effective dates of coverage are subject to the Actively at Work provision (see Page 113).

#### Without the Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature

If you do not participate in the MoneyPlus Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature and do not enroll within 31 days of the date you begin employment, you can enroll throughout the year as long as you provide evidence of insurability and it is approved by Securian. To enroll, you will need to complete a Notice of Election form and an Evidence of Insurability form and return these to your benefits administrator. Your coverage will be effective on the first day of the month coinciding with, or the first of the month following, approval. In certain special eligibility situations, you may purchase coverage, in \$10,000 increments, up to a maximum of \$50,000 without providing evidence of insurability. Coverage will be effective the first of the month after you complete and file the Notice of Election form. All effective dates of coverage are subject to the Actively at Work requirement (see Page 113).

#### Premiums

Optional Life premiums are determined by your age on the preceding December 31 and the amount of insurance you select. You can pay premiums for up to \$50,000 of coverage before taxes through MoneyPlus (see Page 144). Retired employees are not eligible to pay premiums through MoneyPlus. Premiums are listed on Pages 180-186. For sample rate calculations, see Page 185.

#### What if my age category changes?

If your age category changes, your premium will increase on January 1 of the next calendar year. Your coverage will be reduced at age 70,

#### 75, and 80.

# Changing your coverage amount

#### With Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature

If you participate in the MoneyPlus Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature, you can increase, decrease, or drop your coverage only during the yearly open enrollment period in October or within 31 days of a special eligibility situation (see Pages 21-27).

To increase your coverage during open enrollment, you will need to provide evidence of insurability and be approved by Securian. If approved, coverage will be effective on January 1 following the enrollment period. All effective dates of coverage are subject to the Actively at Work requirement (see Page 113). If you are increasing your coverage due to a special eligibility situation, you can increase, in increments of \$10,000 up to \$50,000 (\$500,000 serves as the maximum coverage amount) without providing evidence of insurability. If you are enrolling in Optional Life for the first time due to a special eligibility situation, you may enroll, in \$10,000 increments, up to a maximum of \$50,000 without providing evidence of insurability.

#### Without the Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature

If you do not participate in the MoneyPlus Pretax Group Insurance Premium Feature, you can apply to increase your amount of coverage at any time during the year by providing evidence of insurability and being approved by Securian. Your coverage at the new level will be effective on the first day of the month following the date of approval. In certain special eligibility situations, you may purchase coverage, in \$10,000 increments, up to a maximum of \$50,000 without providing evidence of insurability. Coverage will be effective the first of the month after you complete and file the *Notice of Election* form. All effective dates of coverage are subject to the Actively at Work requirement (see Page 113). You can decrease or cancel your coverage at any time. However, if you want to re-enroll or increase coverage at a later date, you must provide evidence of insurability and be approved.

# **Dependent Life Insurance**

# Eligible dependents

If you are eligible for life insurance coverage, you may enroll your eligible dependents in Dependent Life Insurance even if you have not enrolled in the Optional Life program or state health insurance coverage.

Eligible dependents include:

- Lawful spouse:
  - May not be legally separated from you.
  - May not be eligible for coverage as an employee or retiree of a participating employer.
- Children:
  - Includes natural children, legally adopted children, children placed for adoption (from the date of placement with the adopting parents until the legal adoption), stepchildren, or children for whom you have legal guardianship.
  - From live birth to age 19, or a child who is at least 19 years old but younger than age 25 who attends school on a fulltime basis (as defined by the institution) as his principal activity and is primarily dependent on you for financial support.

Insurance eligibility changes made by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, as amended by the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, do not apply to the Dependent Life-Child Insurance.

Children of any age are eligible if they are physically or mentally incapable of self-support, are incapable of self-support before age 25, and are financially dependent on you for more than one-half of their support and maintenance.

For more information about covering an incapacitated child, see Pages 15-16.

A person who is eligible as an employee or retiree under the policy, or insured under continuation, is not eligible as a dependent. Only one person can insure an eligible dependent child.

PEBA may conduct an audit of the eligibility of an insured dependent. If the dependent is found to be ineligible, no benefits will be paid.

If both husband and wife work for a participating employer, only one can carry dependent coverage for eligible dependent children, and the spouses cannot cover each other.

To file a claim under Dependent Life-Child for a child age 19 through 24, you will be required to show the child was a full-time student at the time of enrollment and at the time of the claim. You will need a statement on letterhead from the educational institution the child was attending that verifies the child was a fulltime student and provides the child's dates of enrollment. The statement should be given to the subscriber's benefits administrator, who will send it to Securian with the *Notice of Death*.

To file a claim for an incapacitated child over the age of 25, the subscriber must give

certification of incapacitation to their benefits administrator, who will send it to Securian with the *Notice of Death*.

## Excluded dependents

- Any dependent who is eligible as an employee for life insurance coverage, or who is in full-time military service, will not be considered a dependent.
- A former spouse and former stepchildren cannot be covered under Dependent Life Insurance through PEBA, even with a court order.
- A foster child is not eligible for Dependent Life coverage.

### Enrollment

Within 31 days of the date you are hired you can enroll in Dependent Life-Spouse insurance up to \$20,000 without providing evidence of insurability. Enrollment in Optional Life is required to enroll in Dependent Life-Spouse coverage for more than \$20,000. You may not cover an ex-spouse.

Eligible children may be added at initial enrollment and throughout the year without providing evidence of insurability.

To enroll in Dependent Life Insurance, you must complete a *Notice of Election* form and return it to your benefits administrator. Each dependent you wish to cover must be listed on the *Notice of Election* form.

Your dependent's coverage begins on the first day of the month if you are Actively at Work on that day as a full-time employee. If you become eligible on the first working day of the month (the first day that is not a Saturday, Sunday or observed holiday), and it is not the first calendar day, you may choose to have coverage start on the first day of that month or the first day of the next month. If you become eligible on a day other than the first calendar day or first working day of the month, coverage starts on the first day of the next month.

At any time during the year, you can enroll in or add additional Dependent Life-Spouse coverage by submitting evidence of insurability. The additional coverage is effective the first of the month after approval of evidence of insurability.

All effective dates are subject to the Actively at Work requirement (see Page 113) and the dependent non-confinement provision, found later in this section.

#### Adding a new spouse

If you wish to add a spouse because you marry, you can add coverage of \$10,000 or \$20,000 for your new spouse without providing evidence of insurability. To do this, complete a *Notice of Election* form within 31 days of the date of your marriage. Coverage becomes effective the first of the month after you complete and file the *Notice of Election* form. You cannot cover your spouse as a dependent if your spouse is or becomes an employee of an employer that participates in the plan.

If you divorce, you must drop your spouse from your coverage. You will need to complete a *Notice of Election* form within 31 days of the date of your divorce. After 31 days, you will forfeit premiums.

#### Spouse's loss of employment

If your spouse's employment with a participating employer ends, you can enroll your spouse in Dependent Life coverage for up to \$20,000 within 31 days of his termination without providing evidence of insurability. If your spouse loses life insurance through an employer that does not participate in PEBA insurance, he can enroll throughout the year with evidence of insurability.

#### Late entry

If you do not enroll within 31 days of the date you begin employment or are married, you can enroll your spouse throughout the year as long as you provide evidence of insurability and it is approved by Securian. To do so, complete a *Notice of Election* form and an *Evidence of Insurability* form. Coverage will be effective on the first day of the month after approval. All effective dates of coverage are subject to the Actively at Work requirement and the dependent non-confinement provision.

#### Adding children

Eligible children may be added throughout the year without providing evidence of insurability by completing a *Notice of Election* form and returning it to your benefits administrator. Coverage will be effective the first of the month after you complete and file the form.

Your eligible child is automatically covered for 31 days from the child's live birth. To continue your child's coverage, you will need to list each child on your *Notice of Election* form within 31 days of birth; otherwise the child's coverage will terminate at the end of the 31-day period.

You must list each child on your *Notice of Election* form within 31 days of birth, even if you have Dependent Life Insurance coverage when you gain a new child.

All effective dates of coverage are subject to the dependent non-confinement provision.

# Dependent non-confinement provision

If a dependent is hospitalized or confined

because of illness or disease on the date their insurance would otherwise become effective, their effective date shall be delayed until they are released from such hospitalization or confinement. This does not apply to a newborn child. However, in no event will insurance on a dependent be effective before your insurance is effective.

#### Dependent Life-Spouse coverage

If you are enrolled in the Optional Life program with more than \$30,000 of coverage, you may cover your spouse in increments of \$10,000 for up to 50 percent of your Optional Life coverage or \$100,000, whichever is less.

However, if you are not enrolled or you are enrolled with \$10,000, \$20,000, or \$30,000 of Optional Life coverage, you can only enroll your spouse for \$10,000 or \$20,000.

Evidence of insurability is required for all coverage amounts greater than \$20,000 and for coverage not elected when your spouse first became eligible or due to a special eligibility situation.

Premiums for Dependent Life-Spouse coverage are the same as the Optional Life premiums, and are based on your age. Your spouse's coverage will be reduced at ages 70, 75, and 80 based on your age. Premiums are paid entirely by you, with no contribution from your employer, and may be paid through payroll deduction.

Spouses enrolled in Dependent Life coverage are also covered for accidental death and dismemberment benefits. They are eligible for the Seat Belt Benefit, Air Bag Benefit, Child Care benefit and Child Education Benefit (see Pages 121-122).

#### **Dependent Life-Child coverage**

The Dependent Life-Child benefit is \$15,000. The monthly premium for Dependent Life-Child coverage is \$1.10 regardless of the number of children you cover. Premiums are paid entirely by you, with no contribution from your employer, and may be paid through payroll deduction.

# Premiums

Dependent Life-Spouse coverage and Dependent Life-Child coverage are separate programs for which you pay separate premiums.

Premiums for Dependent Life-Spouse are determined by the subscriber's age. Premiums are listed on Page 181.

The premium for Dependent Life-Child coverage is the same, \$1.10, regardless of the number of children covered.

# Sample rate calculations

Employee, age 44, with \$100,	000 in coverage
Coverage amount	\$100,000
	<u>/ \$100,000</u>
Coverage units	10
Monthly rate	<u>x \$0.76</u>
Monthly cost	\$7.60
Employee, age 70, with \$100	,000 in original
coverage election	on
Original coverage amount	\$100,000
Reduction	<u>x 65%</u>
Reduced coverage amount	\$65,000
	<u>/ \$10,000</u>
Coverage units	6.5
Monthly rate	x \$20.02
Monthly cost	\$130.13

# Beneficiaries

A beneficiary is the person or people who will receive insurance payments if you die. You can change your beneficiaries at any time, unless you have given up this right. If you have no eligible beneficiaries named, death benefits will be paid to:

- 1. You lawful spouse, if living; otherwise:
- 2. Your natural or legally adopted child or children, in equal shares, if living; otherwise:
- 3. Your parents, in equal shares, if living; otherwise:
- 4. Your siblings, in equal shares, if living; otherwise:
- 5. Your estate.

## Changing your beneficiaries

You can change your beneficiaries online through <u>MyBenefits.sc.gov</u>, or by notifying your benefits administrator and completing a Notice of Election form. When processed, the change will be effective on the date the request is signed, and will not apply to any payments or other action taken before the request was processed. Please note that Securian will allow beneficiary changes by power of attorney only if the documents specifically state an attorneyin-fact has the power to change beneficiary designations.

## Assignment

You may transfer ownership rights for your insurance to a third party, which is known as assigning your insurance. Securian will not be bound by an assignment of the certificate or of any interest in it unless it is made as a written statement, you file the original instrument or a certified copy with Securian's home office, and Securian sends you an acknowledged copy.

Securian is not responsible for the validity of any assignment. You will need to ensure that the assignment is legal in your state and that it accomplishes your intended goals. If a claim is based on an assignment, Securian may require proof of interest of the claimant. A valid assignment will take precedence over any claim of a beneficiary.

# Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefits

This section does not apply to retirees or dependent children.

# Schedule of accidental losses and benefits

In addition to any life insurance benefit, Securian will pay Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefits equal to the amount of Basic and Optional Life insurance for which the employee is insured and an amount equal to the amount of Dependent Life-Spouse insurance for which the spouse is insured, according to the schedule below, if:

- 1. You suffer accidental bodily injury while your insurance is in force;
- A loss results directly from such injury, independent of all other causes, and is unintended, unexpected, and unforeseen; and
- 3. Such a loss occurs within 365 days after the date of the accident causing the injury.

Loss of a hand or foot refers to actual and permanent severance from the body at or above the wrist or ankle joint. Loss of sight, speech, or hearing means entire and irrecoverable loss. Loss of both a thumb and index finger of same hand, means actual and permanent severance from the body at or above the metacarpophalangeal joints.

The amount of the benefit shall be a percentage of the amount of Basic, Optional, and Dependent Life- Spouse insurance. The percentage is determined by the type of loss, as shown in the following table.

	Percent of
	amount
Description of loss	of insurance
Life	100%
Both hands, both feet, or sight of both	100%
eyes	
One hand and one foot	100%
Speech, and hearing in both ears	100%
Either hand or foot, and sight of one	100%
eye	
Movement of both upper and lower	100%
limbs (quadriplegia)	
Movement of both lower limbs	75%
(paraplegia)	
Movement of both legs and one arm, or	75%
both arms and one leg	
Movement of the upper and lower	50%
limbs of one side of body (hemiplegia)	
Either hand or foot	50%
Sight of one eye	50%
Speech, or hearing in both ears	50%
Movement of one limb (uniplegia)	25%
Thumb and index finger of same hand	25%

## What is not covered?

Securian will not pay accidental death and dismemberment benefits under this section for any loss caused or contributed to by:

- Intentionally self-inflicted injury.
- Suicide or attempted suicide.
- Committing or attempting to commit a felony.
- Bodily or mental infirmity, illness, or disease.

- Alcohol in combination with any drug, medication, or sedative.
- The voluntary use of prescription drugs, nonprescription drugs, illegal drugs, medications, poisons, gases, fumes, or other substances taken, absorbed, inhaled, ingested, or injected unless it is taken upon the advice of a licensed physician in the verifiable prescribed manner and dosage.
- Motor vehicle collision or accident where you are the operator of the motor vehicle and your blood alcohol level meets or exceeds the level at which intoxication is defined in the state where the collision or accident occurred, regardless of any legal proceedings thereto.
- Infection, other than infection occurring simultaneously with, and as a direct and independent result of, the accidental injury.
- Medical or surgical treatment, diagnostic procedures, or any resulting complications, including complications from medical misadventure.
- War or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared.
- Service in the military of any nation, except the United States National Guard.

### Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefits

#### Seat Belt and Air Bag Benefit (Basic, Optional, and Dependent Spouse Accidental death and dismemberment only)

The Seat Belt Benefit is an additional 25 percent of your accidental death benefit. For example, if your amount of life insurance is \$20,000 and you die in an accident, an additional \$20,000 accidental death benefit will be payable. The Seat Belt Benefit increases this accidental death benefit by 25 percent, or \$5,000. The total accidental death benefit will then be \$25,000, which means the entire death benefit will be \$45,000.

The Air Bag Benefit is an additional 5 percent, or \$5,000, whichever is less, of your accidental death benefit. For example, if your amount of life insurance is \$20,000 and you die in an accident, an additional \$20,000 accidental death benefits will be payable The Seat Belt Benefit increases the accidental death benefit by \$5,000, and the Air Bag Benefit increases the accidental death benefit by \$1,000 (5 percent of \$20,000 = \$1,000), which means the entire death benefit will be \$46,000.

To be eligible for these benefits, the following must apply:

- The seat in which the insured was seated was equipped with a properly installed air bag at the time of the accident.
- 2. The private passenger car is equipped with seat belts.
- The seat belt was in proper use by the insured at the time of the accident as certified in the official accident report or by the investigating officer.
- At the time of the accident, the driver of the private passenger car was a licensed driver and was not intoxicated, impaired, or under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

#### Child Care Benefit (Optional and Dependent Spouse Accidental death and dismemberment only)

A child care benefit will be paid to each dependent who is younger than age 7 (at the time of the insured's death) and who is enrolled in a day care program. The benefit for each child per year will be the lesser of:

- Five percent of your amount of Accidental death and dismemberment insurance; or:
- 2. \$10,000; or:
- 3. Actual incurred child care expenses.

It will be paid for each dependent who qualifies for no more than two years. If this benefit is in effect on the date that the employee or the spouse dies and there is no dependent child who could qualify for this benefit, Securian will pay \$1,000 to the beneficiary.

#### Dependent Child Education Benefit (Optional and Dependent Spouse Accidental death and dismemberment only)

An education benefit is paid for each dependent who qualifies as a student. A qualified dependent must be either a posthigh school student who attends a school for higher learning on a full-time basis at the time of the insured's death or in the 12th grade and will become a full-time post-high school student in a school for higher learning within 365 days after the insured's death. The benefit is a maximum of \$5,000 per academic year with a maximum overall benefit of five percent of the value of the policy. The benefit will be payable at the beginning of each school year for a maximum of four consecutive years but not beyond the date the child turns age 25.

If this benefit is in effect on the date you die or your spouse dies and you do not have a child who could qualify for it, Securian will pay \$1,000 in one sum to your beneficiary.

#### Felonious Assault Benefit (Optional Accidental Death and Dismemberment, Employee only)

A felonious assault benefit is paid if you

are injured in a felonious assault and the injury results in a loss for which benefits are payable under the Accidental death and dismemberment benefit. The benefit is the lesser of one times your annual earnings, \$25,000, or your amount of Optional Accidental death and dismemberment insurance.

A felonious assault is a physical assault by another person resulting in bodily harm to you. The assault must involve the use of force or violence with intent to cause harm and must be a felony under the laws of the jurisdiction in which the act was committed.

No benefit is payable if the assault is committed by an immediate family member. Immediate family members include your spouse as well as your and your spouse's children, parents, siblings, grandparents, and grandchildren.

#### Repatriation Benefit (Basic and Optional Accidental Death and Dismemberment, Employee only)

A Repatriation Benefit will be paid if you die in a way that would be covered under the Accidental death and dismemberment benefit and if the death occurs more than 100 miles from your principal residence.

The Repatriation Benefit will be the lesser of:

- The actual expenses incurred for:
  - Preparation of the body for burial or cremation, and
  - Transportation of the body to the place of burial or cremation;

or

 The maximum amount for this benefit (\$5,000).

### Public Transportation (Common Carrier) Benefit (Basic, Optional Accidental Death and Dismemberment, Employee only)

If you die as a result of a covered accident that occurs while you are a fare-paying passenger on a public transportation vehicle, Securian will pay an additional benefit equal to your full amount of Accidental death and dismemberment insurance.

Public transportation vehicle means any air, land, or water vehicle operated under a license for the transportation of fare-paying passengers.

# Value-added services

## Travel Assistance Services (active employees, spouse, and eligible children)

Travel Assistance Services is available if you are covered under PEBA's group life insurance. It is available for personal or business travel 100 or more miles from home. Included are help replacing lost or stolen luggage, prescriptions or other critical items; medical or security evacuation; medically necessary repatriation; and repatriation of mortal remains.

For service terms and conditions and pre-trip information, visit <u>www.LifeBenefits.com/travel</u> or call 855.516.5433 in the United States and Canada. Elsewhere, call collect 415.484.4677.

## Legal, Financial, and Grief Resources (active employees, spouse, and eligible children)

Legal, Financial, and Grief Resources are available to all active employees, their spouse, and dependent children covered under Basic or Optional Life insurance offered through PEBA. It includes guidance and consultation with professionals over the telephone, comprehensive web and mobile resources, and a 30-minute face-to-face consultation with an attorney for each unique legal issue.

Go to <u>LifeWorks.com</u> and sign in with the user name lfg and the password resources. For more information, call 877.849.6034.

### Legacy Planning Resources (active employees, retirees, and eligible children)

Legacy Planning Resources are available to active employees, retirees, and their families covered under PEBA's group life insurance. It provides information related to end-of-life planning that can be useful in preparing for one's own death or in dealing with the loss of a loved one. These resources are available at LegacyPlanningResources.com.

## Beneficiary Financial Counseling (beneficiaries who receive \$25,000 or more)

Optional Beneficiary Financial Counseling is available to beneficiaries of group life insurance who will receive proceeds of \$25,000 or more. Services are provided by PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP and are designed to provide independent, objective financial counseling at a time when it is needed most.

Services provided by Ceridian HCM, Inc., RedpointWTP LLC, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP are their sole responsibility. The services are not affiliated with Securian or its group contracts and may be discontinued at any time. Certain terms, conditions, and restrictions may apply when utilizing the services. To learn more, visit the appropriate website.

# Claims

To pay benefits, Securian must be given a written proof of loss. This means a claim must be filed as described below.

# Your accelerated benefit

If you or your covered dependent is diagnosed by a physician as having a terminal illness, you may request that Securian pay up to 100 percent of your life insurance prior to your death. Any remaining benefits will be paid to your beneficiary upon your death. A terminal illness means that you have a life expectancy of 12 months or less.

To file a claim, notify your employer. Then you, your employer, and the attending physician will each complete a section of Securian's *Notice of Claim for Accelerated Benefit* form.

## How to file a claim

When you or your dependent dies, your employer should be notified. This should be done as soon as reasonably possible. The benefits administrator will complete and submit Securian's *Notice of Death* form. Securian will send the beneficiary a beneficiary statement and a condolence letter, which requests an original certified death certificate.

When Securian receives acceptable proof of your covered dependent's death, Securian will pay the life insurance benefit to you. If you are no longer living, it will be paid to your estate.

When a retiree dies, the beneficiary, or the employer on his behalf, should notify Securian of the death by calling 888.658.0193.

#### Suicide provision

No Optional Life or Dependent Life-Spouse

benefit will be payable if death results from suicide, whether the covered person is sane or insane, within two years of the effective date. If suicide occurs within two years of a coverage increase, the death benefit payable is limited to the amount of coverage in force prior to the increase.

#### How Accidental Death and Dismemberment claims are paid

In the case of accidental death, your employer should be notified. The benefits administrator will complete and submit Securian's *Notice of Death* form. Securian will pay the accidental death benefit to your beneficiaries.

If you sustained other losses covered under Accidental Death and Dismemberment, you, your employer and your physician must complete the *Notice of Accidental Dismemberment and Loss of Sight Claim* form and submit it to Securian. The benefit for other losses you sustained will be paid to you, if you are living. Otherwise, it will be paid to your estate.

A dependent's Accidental Death and Dismemberment benefit will be paid to you, if you are living. Otherwise, it will be paid to your estate.

#### **Examinations and autopsies**

Securian retains the right to have you medically examined at its expense when and so often as it may reasonably require whenever a claim is pending and, where not forbidden by law, Securian reserves the right to have an autopsy performed in case of death.

# When your coverage ends

## Termination of coverage

Your insurance will end at midnight on the earliest of:

- The last day of the month you terminate your employment.
- The last day of the month you go on unapproved leave of absence.
- The last day of the month you enter a class of employees not eligible for coverage (for example, a change from full-time to parttime status).
- The date PEBA's policy ends.
- The last day of the month you do not pay the required premium for that month.

#### Retiree coverage will end January 1 after:

- You reach age 70, if you continued coverage and retired before January 1, 1999.
- You reach age 75, if you continued coverage and retired January 1, 1999, and later.

Claims incurred before the date insurance ends will not be affected by coverage termination.

### Termination of Dependent Life Insurance coverage

Your dependent's coverage will terminate at midnight on the earliest of:

- The day PEBA's policy ends.
- The day you, the employee, die.
- The last day of the month in which the dependent no longer meets the definition of a dependent.
- The day any premiums for Dependent Life

Insurance coverage are due and unpaid for a period of 31 days.

Claims incurred before the date insurance ends will not be affected by coverage termination.

# **Extension of benefits**

An extension of benefits is provided according to the requirements below. Securian is not required by contract to provide these benefits unless you meet these requirements.

### Leave of absence

If you are on an employer-approved leave of absence and you remain eligible for active benefits, you can continue your Optional Life Insurance for up to 12 months from the first of the month after the last day worked, as long as you pay the required premiums. Securian may require written proof of your leave of absence approval before any claims are paid.

#### Military leave of absence

If you enter active military service and are granted a military leave of absence in writing, your coverage (including Dependent Life coverage) may be continued for up to 12 months from the first of the month after the last day worked, as long as you pay the required premiums. If the leave ends before the agreed-upon date, this continuation will end immediately. If you return from active military duty after being discharged and you qualify to return to work under applicable federal or state law, you may be eligible for the coverage you had before the leave of absence began, provided you are rehired by the same employer and request reinstatement within 31 days of returning to work.

#### Disability

If you become disabled, your life insurance can be continued for up to 12 months from your last day worked as long as you remain eligible for active benefits and:

- You continue to pay the premiums; and
- The Optional Life insurance policy does not end.

When you lose eligibility for active benefits:

- If you are eligible for retiree insurance, you can convert your coverage to an individual whole life policy or continue your Optional Life insurance until age 75. Securian must receive the form requesting conversion or continuation within 31 days of termination of your active employee coverage.
- If you are not eligible for retiree insurance, you can convert your coverage to an individual whole life policy. Securian must receive the form requesting conversion within 31 days of termination of your active employee coverage.
- If you are later approved for disability retirement benefits, and therefore are eligible for retiree insurance, you may enroll in up to the same amount of Optional Life coverage you had when your eligibility for active benefits ended. To do so, contact Securian within 31 days of your disability retirement approval date. Coverage would begin the first of the month after your approval for disability retirement.

For more information about retiree insurance eligibility, see Pages 162-164.

# Continuing or converting your life insurance

The PEBA Coverage Verification Notice of Group

*Life Insurance* form must be completed and accompany your request for continuation or conversion. The form is available from your benefits administrator.

Please note that Accidental Death and Dismemberment coverage may not be continued or converted.

## Continuation

If you are eligible for retiree insurance, you may be able to continue your insurance coverage and pay premiums directly to Securian. To continue your coverage, complete the *Retiree Life Continuation Election* form, which is available at <u>www.peba.sc.gov/iforms.html</u> or from your benefits administrator. Coverage must be elected within 31 days of the date of coverage is lost due to approved retirement or approved disability retirement.

If you have questions about your options for continuing your insurance coverage or would like to request continuation forms, please contact Securian at 866.365.2374. A complete application must be received within 31 days of your benefit termination.

## Conversion

If your Basic, Optional, or Dependent Life insurance ends because your employment or eligibility for coverage ends, you may apply to convert your coverage to an individual whole life insurance policy, a permanent form of life insurance, without providing evidence of insurability. To apply, contact Securian at 866.486.5298. Securian will review the conversion option with you and will provide a *Conversion of Group Life Insurance Enrollment* form. Complete the form and mail it with your coverage application and first premium payment to Securian. When applying for coverage, remember these rules:

- You may not apply for more than the amount of life insurance you had under your terminated group life insurance.
- 2. Your new premium for the conversion policy will be set at Securian's standard rate for the amount of coverage that you wish to convert and your age.

The forms must be received by Securian within 31 days of the date your insurance coverage ends.

#### Group policy is terminated

If your group life insurance ends because of termination by the state of the policy or termination as a class, you may be eligible for a conversion policy. For more information, see the Securian certificate under the Conversion Right section.

# Death benefit during conversion period

If you die within 31 days of the date your group insurance was terminated and meet the conversion eligibility requirements, Securian will pay a death benefit regardless of whether or not an application for coverage under an individual policy has been submitted. The death benefit will be the amount of insurance you would have been eligible to convert under the terms of the Conversion Right section.