Home > Political Subdivisions
Political Subdivisions

Political Subdivisions Defined

As used in South Carolina's laws, the term "political subdivision" does not have a single, universal definition. For purposes of the Consolidated Procurement Code and its accompanying regulations, the term is defined as follows:

"Political subdivision" means all counties, municipalities, school districts, public service or special purpose districts"

Determining whether an entity is a county, municipality, or school district under the laws of South Carolina is usually straightforward. While the same is true for most public service or special purpose districts, such entities can be more difficult to categorize. For additional information, see the links for Using Statewide Contracts and for Resources under the heading for Political Subdivisions on our Home Page.